Gala dinner at the “Pré Catelan”

SOLD-OUT

The origin of the name “Pré Catelan” comes from the name of the hunting captain of the king Louis XIV, Théophile Catelan. However there is also a legend relating that a troubadour named Arnault Catelan loose his life at this place while bringing some gifts to the king Philippe Le Bel in the name of Brigitte de Savoie, during the XII th century. At the origin, it was a simple field from where cobblestones were extracted to build the pavement of the lanes in the Bois de Boulogne, before becoming an amusement park for walking, riding bicycles, hearing music and eating in restaurants.

The “Pré Catelan” is an elegant ward in Napoleon III style, in the heart of the Bois de Boulogne. It was built in 1905, and was inspired by the extravagances of the XVIIth century. In 1908, Leopold Mourier, owner of the Fouquet’s restaurant, became the owner of the Pré Catelan, transforming this restaurant in one of the most esteemed place in Paris. In 1923, the restaurant goes to Charles Drouant, who pushes the evolution of this place at a high level, internationally recognized gastronomic place. In 1976, Colette and Gaston Lenôtre became the owner of the Pré Catelan, and since that time, this place is one of the most prestigious gastronomic places in Paris.

The Pré Catelan received in 1997 for the first time a three star quotation in the Guide Michelin. Frederic Anton is the current chef of the restaurant. He was working with Joël Rebuchon in Reims and arrived in the Pré Catelan in 1997. He was awarded as a best worker of France in 2000. He received the three star distinction in the guide Michelin in 2007. Since recently, he became also, in association with Thierry Max, the chief of the restaurant at the Eiffel Tower.

Frederic Anton – Chef of the Pré Catelan

Le dîner de gala au “Pré Catelan”

COMPLET

L’origine du nom “Pré Catelan” vient du capitaine des chasses de Louis XIV, Théophile Catelan. Néanmoins, une légende raconte qu’un troubadour du nom de Arnault Catelan y a perdu la vie en apportant des cadeaux au roi Philippe Le Bel de la part de Brigitte de Savoie, au XIII eme siècle. A l’origine, le pré Catelan était un simple champ d’où étaient extraites des pierres pour le pavage des chemins du bois de Boulogne. A la fermeture de la carrière, le pré Catelan est devenu un parc d’attraction où on vient pour s’y promener, faire du vélo, écouter de la musique et manger dans des restaurants.

Le Pré Catelan a été construit en 1905 et a été inspiré par les folies du XVIII eme siècle. C’est un élégant pavillon de style Napoléon III, au cœur du bois de Boulogne. En 1908, Léopold Mourier, déjà propriétaire du Fouquet’s, devient le nouveau propriétaire du Pré Catelan, transformant ce restaurant en l’une des places les plus courues de Paris. En 1923, le restaurant va à Charles Drouant, qui fait de cette place l’un des lieux les plus reconnus internationalement de la gastronomie. En 1976, Colette et Gaston Lenôtre deviennent propriétaires du Pré Catelan, et depuis cette date, ce restaurant est l’un des endroits gastronomiques des plus prestigieux de Paris.

Le Pré Catelan a reçu en 1997 pour la première fois trois étoiles au guide Michelin. Frederic Anton est actuellement le chef de ce restaurant. Il a travaillé à Reims avec Joël Rebuchon et est arrivé au Pré Catelan en 1997. Il a été élu meilleur ouvrier de France en 2000 et a reçu trois étoiles au guide Michelin en 2007. Depuis peu, il est également, en association avec Thierry Max, le chef du restaurant de la Tour Eiffel.

Frederic Anton – Chef du Pré Catelan